Cloth Diapers, Yeast & Laundry Oh My!!! (Part Two- Laundry Routine)

Leave a comment

January 1, 2013 by justsayingmama

Checking on-line for what is the best way to treat cloth diapers for yeast is a battle in itself. There are many different opinions on what is best to do. If you are lucky enough to have any crunchy mama friends who also cloth diaper, they are often the best sounding board and go-to people for advise. I only know three other mamas who cloth diaper so I messaged them seeking the holy grail of yeast busters. I must say, that CD mamas love to help each other and I am so appreciative of that. My closest-crunchy-mama-friend actually messaged her friends for their advise as some of them tackled this situation. Go team!!! Again, lots of varying ideas on what to do. For whatever reason, I just didn’t want to use bleach on my stash. After lots of reading I came across a great link from allaboutclothdiapers.com that basically says that Grapefruit Seed Extract is the only natural way to kill yeast spores.

First I had all my cloth diapers already washed and dried as I normally do.

-Soak for three hours in the bath tub with hot water and three spoonfuls of Rocking Green Detergent.

First Load of Cloth Diapers

Second Load of Cloth Diapers

-Drain tub and ring out diapers and inserts and place in towel lined laundry hamper to transfer to washer
-Place in washer
-Rinse with no spin to have the diapers weigh more to more water will be added in wash

Cold Rinse with NO Spin

Cold Rinse with NO Spin

-Wash Settings –> Hot Wash/Cold Rinse, Medium Spin, Heavy Soil Level. Extra Rinse, Water Plus and Stain Cycle settings selected.

Hot Wash/Cold Rinse, Medium Spin, Heavy Soil Level. Extra Rinse, Water Plus and Stain Cycle settings selected.

-Grapefruit Seed Extract added to detergent slot (approx 30 drops)
-Once the wash started for a couple of minutes I stopped the wash and let the wet diapers sit in the GSE for about ten mints
-Started wash again
-Once cycle finished I did one more cycle with RG.
-Everything in dryer on Medium Heat
-Mr. Sun has not been shining so no sunning the fresh diapers :( #wintertimeclothdiaperfail

Lay stash out and begin to stuff!

Cloth Diapers Ready to Stuff

Here’s hoping I’ve busted the yeast monster for good!!

 

Leave a Reply

About Me

Mama who loves to share her infertility success story. I blog my everyday mothering moments from cloth diapering to baby led weaning. Reality Show Junkie. Sarcasm Central. Just Saying.

Holla!!

Feel free to add me to Facebook & Twitter as that is where I post daily.

Upcoming Stuff

Cloth Diapering Vlog

Fertility Journey

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

Student Midwife Diaries

My journey to becoming a professional baby catcher

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Mill City Mama

Healthy & Happy Family Life in Minneapolis

asphodellium

quibbles and bits from a chinese-canadian mama-of-one

Buntis

An excuse for a bulging tummy

love and late nights mumma

The trials, tears, smiles, laughs and joys of parenting though the eyes of a new mum

you can't choose when

A good friend told me, "You will have a family, you just can't choose when". Here is my story.

infertile myrtle

the misadventures of babymaking.

Will Work For Baby

Our Journey to Starting a Family

Idiotic Infertility

My Diminished Ovaries and Me

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

